Congratulations to Kathy Freshley, DCPCA’s 2008 Champion of Change Award winner

by Lee Allison Paczulla, DCPCA

Photos by Maurice G. Fitzgerald

The DC Primary Care Association (DCPCA) proudly awarded Katherine T. Freshley, senior program officer at the Meyer Foundation, the 2008 Champion of Change Award at the DCPCA 11th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 14. The Champion of Change Award, given each year by DCPCA to outstanding individuals in the health care community, recognizes Freshley’s deep and significant commitment to improving health care for all DC residents.

Over the past 10 years, through her tireless work leveraging support within the local and national funding communities, Freshley has helped build a new culture of quality in the District’s health care system. In 1998, Freshley co-founded the Washington Regional Association of Grantmakers’ Health Working Group to bring together public agencies, consumers, and nonprofits to share best practices and reform agendas on health issues in the DC area. Freshley also served an invaluable role as co-chair of DCPCA’s fundraising task force to leverage millions of dollars in support of DCPCA’s Medical Homes DC initiative – a program that improves access to high quality primary care in the District’s many medically underserved neighborhoods through funding of capital projects, technical assistance, and special programs to improve health outcomes for those in greatest need.

Freshley has set a powerful example as a champion for health care in DC, and has worked tirelessly throughout her career in service of medically vulnerable individuals. Congratulations to Kathy on her recognition as a 2008 Champion of Change!

* * *

Previous Champion of Change Award recipients include former DC Mayor Anthony Williams; Juan Romagoza, former Executive Director of La Clínica del Pueblo and lifelong advocate for DC’s Latino community; and Gloria WilderBrathwaite, founder of the Children’s Health Project of DC and a leading voice on improving care for children and families nationwide. DC Council Chairman Vincent C. Gray (D-At-Large); Randi Abramson, MD, Medical Clinic Director, Bread for the City; and Walter Smith, Executive Director, DC Appleseed Center for Law and Justice also received awards at the Oct. 14 event.

Kathy Freshley, Meyer Foundation; Sharon Baskerville, DCPCA